Process video with php – my experience and some advice for you!

9 Aug
images3.jpg Why youtube is so popular!!! Every body will agree with me if I say “They make video available for people”.Actually what youtube does? They were successful to render video quickly because they convert a video file (mpeg, mov, avi) to flash movie (flv) file.
I was really excited when I developed some youtube clones. Till now those project are the finest project in my archive. Editing video with php was an interesting job.I used Mpleyer, Mencoder and Flvtool2 as a 3rd party tool.http://www.mplayerhq.hu is providing mplayer and mencoder freeware. This is linux based project on video editing. And very useful for video encoding. windows base version is also available there.I used mencoder to convert video files to flv and generate thumbnail. Creating Thumbnail was a great exciting moment for me indeed!Mpleyer follows linux based path system. When a programmer start working with it in windows platform should keep in mind if he starts path parameter with slash (/) the output will generate in root directory( commonly C:/ or some time in windows folder). To get the stress out form you head it’s better to use full path of the media files.Now the task is to get the duration of the video. I used Mplayer to finish this event. This is very easy but I was in stress because I forgot to turn off the CPU sound. So you guys should include ” –nosound ” this simple text with the command string.I thought my work was done there. But my site owner was not satisfied with the quality. Because the size of the files was bigger than he expected. Then I used Flvtool2 to increase the quality. Actually Flvtool2 is a manipulation tool for Macromedia Flash Video files (FLV).

Success always put smiles on ur face automatically. This is what happened to my end result 🙂 it felt great when my site owner became happy like me. I hope guys who will try will always enjoy this kind of moment.
🙂

Leave a Reply

